Oct 26, 2020  
2012-2013 College Catalog 
    
2012-2013 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendars



Fall Semester, 2012

August 10 Friday New Personnel Orientation
August 15 Wednesday Fall Convocation & Campus Workshops
August 15 Wednesday Drop Date for students not making 1st payment of total fees
August 16-17 Thursday-Friday Registration
August 16 Thursday Residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
August 20 Monday Classes begin
August 20 Monday MSVCC (online) classes begin
August 24 Friday End of late registration for full-term, first term and online classes; last day to officially withdraw without a grade; last day to change schedule.
September 3 Monday Labor Day Holiday (classes that meet on Monday nights only will make up on Friday, Sept 14).
September 28 Friday 2nd payment of total fees due in the Business Office
October 8-9 Monday-Tuesday Columbus Day Holidays (all offices closed)
October 11-12 Thursday-Friday Final exams for first term classes
October 12 Friday Midterm grades due for full term courses
October 15 Monday 2nd Term classes begin
October 31 Wednesday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
November 1 Thursday Degree/Diploma application deadline
November 1 Thursday Spring 2013 Nursing, Massage Therapy, and Funeral Services Admissions deadline
November 5 Monday Pre-Registration begins for Spring 2013
November 16 Friday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
November 19-23 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving Holidays
November 25 Sunday Residence halls re-open at 3:00 p.m.
November 30 Friday MSVCC (online) courses end
December 10-14 Monday-Friday Final Examinations for full-term courses and second-term courses
December 13 Thursday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
December 14 Friday Begin Christmas Holidays after exams. Offices close at 2:00 p.m.
     

Fall Semester 2012 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term October 19 August 17 August 31
1st 8 week term September 14 August 17 August 24
2nd 8 week term November 16 October 12 October 19
MSVCC (online) November 2 August 19 August 31

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a “W” for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates.

Spring Semester, 2013

January 2 Wednesday All administrative & faculty offices open
January 2 Wednesday Drop Date for students not making 1st payment of total fees
January 3 Thursday Registration; Residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
January 4 Friday Classes begin
January 10 Thursday End of late registration for full-term and first term courses; last day to officially withdraw without a grade; last day to change schedule.
January 14 Monday MSVCC (online) classes begin
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday.
February 8 Friday New Personnel Orientation
February 11-12 Monday-Tuesday Mardi Gras Holidays (Monday night only classes will make up on Friday, February 22 and Tuesday night only classes will make up on Friday, March 1)
February 28- March 1 Thursday-Friday Final Exams for first term classes
February 28 Thursday 2nd payment of total fees due in the Business Office
March 1 Friday Midterm grades due for full term courses
March 4 Monday 2nd Term classes begin
March 15 Friday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
March 18-22 Monday-Friday Spring Holidays
March 24 Sunday Residence halls re-open at 3:00 p.m.
March 29 Friday Good Friday Holiday
April 1 Monday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
April 1 Monday Degree/Diploma application deadline
April 1 Monday Summer 2013 Radiologic Technology Admissions deadline
April 8 Monday Pre-Registration begins for Summer/Fall 2013
April 26 Friday Online courses end
April 29- May 3 Monday-Friday Final Examinations for full-term courses and second-term courses.
May 2 Thursday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
May 9 Thursday Graduation – Coast Coliseum
May 15 Wednesday Summer 2013 Nursing Deadline for the LPN to RN Transition Program

 Spring Semester 2013 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term March 15 January 3 January 18
1st 8 week term February 8 January 3 January 14
2nd 8 week term April 12 February 22 March 8
MSVCC (online) March 29 January 13 January 25

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a “W” for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates.

Summer Semesters, 2013

July 1 Monday Fall 2013 Nursing, Surgical Technology, Medical Laboratory Technology, Medical Assisting, Funeral Services, EMT Basic, and EMS/Paramedic Admissions deadline
July 1 Monday Degree/Diploma application deadline

Five-Week Summer Term • Day Class Schedule • First Session

May 23 Thursday Registration
May 27 Monday Memorial Day Holiday
May 28 Tuesday Classes begin
June 26-27 Wednesday-Thursday Final examinations; first session ends

Five-Week Summer Term • Day Class Schedule • Second Session

June 28 Friday Registration
July 1 Monday Classes begin
July 4 Thursday Independence Day Holiday
August 1-2 Thursday-Friday Final examinations; second session ends

Ten-Week Summer Term • Class Schedule

May 23 Thursday Registration
May 27 Monday Memorial Day Holiday (Monday night classes will make up on Friday, June 14)
May 28 Tuesday Classes begin
July 4 Thursday Independence Day Holiday
July 29 – August 1 Monday-Thursday Final examinations will be given during the last class meeting

Summer Semester 2013 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule 

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term July 5 May 24 May 30
1st 5 week term June 14 May 24 May 30
2nd 5 week term July 19 June 28 July 3

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a “W” for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates.

Keesler Center of The Jefferson Davis Campus, 2012-2013 

Fall Term: August 20, 2012 – November 2, 2012

July 30 Monday Begin Registration
August 16 Thursday End Registration
August 20 Monday Classes Begin
September 3 Monday Labor Day Holiday
October 29 – November 1  Monday-Thursday Final Examinations

Winter Term: November 12, 2012 - February 15, 2013

October 22 Monday Begin Registration
November 8 Thursday End Registration
November 12 Monday Classes Begin
November 19-23 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving Holidays
December 14 Friday Winter Holidays Begin
January 2 Wednesday Classes Resume
February 11-14 Monday-Thursday Final Examinations

Spring Term: February 25, 2013 - May 10, 2013

February 4 Monday Begin Registration
February 21 Thursday End Registration
February 25 Monday Classes Begin
March 29 Friday Good Friday Holiday
May 6-9 Monday-Thursday Final Examinations

Summer Term: May 22, 2013 - August 2, 2013

April 29 Monday Begin Registration
May 16 Thursday End Registration
May 20 Monday Classes Begin
May 27 Monday Memorial Day Holiday
July 4 Thursday Independence Day Holiday
July 29 – August 1 Monday-Thursday Final Examinations

* This calendar is subject to change. Please contact the Keesler Center to receive current registration information.

Semester Testing Schedule

Fall Semester, 2012 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time
 

Saturday, December 8 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, December 10 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, December 11 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TT
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TT
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TT
Wednesday, December 12 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, December 13 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TT
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TT
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TT
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TT
Friday, December 14 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.

Spring Semester, 2012 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time
 

Saturday, April 27 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, April 29 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, April 30 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TT
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TT
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TT
Wednesday, May 1 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, May 2 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TT
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TT
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TT
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TT
Friday, May 3 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.