Oct 18, 2019  
2019-2020 College Catalog 
    
2019-2020 College Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2019

April 1 Monday Alumni Foundation Scholarship application deadline; financial aid priority deadline
August 14 Wednesday New Personnel Orientation
August 15 Thursday Fall Convocation
August 16 Friday Campus Workshops
August 19 Monday Residence Hall check-in for students with housing assignments10:00 a.m.-5:00 pm.
August 19-20 Monday-Tuesday Registration (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first-term classes, there will be no late registration period)
August 21 Wednesday Full term and 1st term classes begin
August 26 Monday MSVCC Online full term classes begin
September 2 Monday Labor Day holiday (classes that meet on Monday nights only will make-up on Friday, September 6th)
September 30 Monday Second payment of total fees due in the Business Office
October 7-11 Monday-Friday Midterm Exams
October 10-11 Thursday-Friday Final exams for first term classes.  Midterm grades due for full term courses
October 14-15 Monday-Tuesday Columbus Day holidays (All offices closed; Residence Halls remain open)
October 16 Wednesday Second term classes begins
October 21 Monday MSVCC Online October 8-week (Short-Term II) begin and Midterm grades for 15 week full-term online courses are due
October 31 Thursday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
November 1 Friday Fall 2019 Degree/Diploma application deadline; Spring semester Health Sciences Division application deadline (Practical and Associates Degree Nursing Programs)
November 4 Monday Priority Registration begins for Spring 2020
November 5 Tuesday Residence hall room-reclaim begins for Spring 2020
November 22 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
November 25-29 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving holidays
December 1 Sunday Residence halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
December 9-13 Monday-Friday Final examinations for full term courses and second term courses
December 12 Thursday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
December 13 Friday Faculty offices close for Christmas Break
December 18 Wednesday All offices close at 2:00 p.m. for Christmas Break
     

Fall Semester 2019 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term October 28 August 20 September 5
1st 8 week term September 16 August 20 August 28
2nd 8 week term November 11 October 16 October 23
MSVCC (online) Full Term November 8 August 25 September 9
MSVCC (online) August 8 week term October 4 August 25 September 2
MSVCC (online) October 8 week term November 29 October 20 October 28
MSVCC (online) August 4 week term September 13 August 25 August 29
MSVCC (online) September 4 week term October 11 September 22 September 26
MSVCC (online) October 4 week term November 8 October 20 October 24
MSVCC (online) November 4 week term December 6 November 17 November 21

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change

Spring Semester 2020

January 6 Monday Employees return to work
January 9 Thursday Residence hall check in for students with housing assignments 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m
January 9-10 Thursday-Friday Registration (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first term classes, there will be no late registration period)
January 13 Monday Full term and 1st term classes begin including MSVCC online
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday
February 24-25 Monday-Tuesday Mardi Gras holidays; Residence Halls remain open Full term Monday night only classes will make-up on Friday, February 28 and full term Tuesday night only classes will make up on Friday, March 6.( First term course make up dates will be made up at the discretion of the local dean). Residence halls remain open.
February 28 Friday Second payment of total fees due in the Business Office
March 2-5 Monday-Thursday Midterm Exams
March 5-6 Thursday-Friday Final exams for first term classes
March 6 Friday Midterm grades due for full term courses
March 9 Monday Second term classes begin (see eLearning calendar)
March 13 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
March 16-20 Monday-Friday Spring holidays
March 22 Sunday Residence Halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
March 31 Tuesday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
April 1 Wednesday Spring 2020 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Summer semester Health Sciences Division Application Deadline (Radiologic Technology)
Fall 2020 Foundation Scholarship Application Deadline
April 6 Monday Priority registration begins for Summer & Fall 2020
April 10 Friday Good Friday holiday (residence halls remain open)
April 14 Tuesday Residence Hall Room Reclaim Begins for Fall 2020
April 24 Friday MSVCC (online) courses end*
May 4-8 Monday-Friday Final examinations for full term courses and second term courses
May 7 Thursday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
May 14 Thursday Graduation – Mississippi Coast Coliseum & Convention Center
May 19 Tuesday Summer Semester Health Sciences Division Application Deadline: LPN to RN Transitional Program (traditional and hybrid tracks)

 Spring Semester 2020 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term March 23 January 10 January 29
1st 8 week term February 6 January 10 January 21
2nd 8 week term April 9 March 6 March 23
MSVCC (online) March 27 January 12 January 27
MSVCC (online) January 8 week term February 21 January 12 January 20
MSVCC (online) March 8 week term April 17 March 8 March 16
MSVCC (online) January 4 week term January 31 January 12 January 16
MSVCC (online) February 4 week term February 28 February 9 February 13
MSVCC (online) March 4 week term March 27 March 8 March 12
MSVCC (online) April 4 week term April 24 April 5 April 9

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change.

Summer Semesters 2020

May 22 Friday Summer 2020 Registration
May 25 Monday Memorial Day holiday (Make-up dates will be scheduled at the discretion of the local dean)
May 26 Tuesday Summer 2020 Classes Begin
June 1 Monday MSVCC (online) courses begin
June 25 Thursday Final Payment of total fees due in the Business Office
June 25 Thursday First Session Final Examinations; First Term Ends
June 26 Friday Registration Second Term
June 29 Monday Second Term Begins
June 29-July 3 Monday-Friday Summer Break
June 30 Tuesday Last day to complete the FAFSA for summer financial aid
July 1 Wednesday Fall Semester Health Sciences Division Application Deadlines (EMT/EMS-Paramedic, Practical and Associate Degree Nursing, Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technology, Physical Therapy Assistant and Surgical Technology)
July 27-30 Monday-Thursday Final Examinations will be given during the last class meeting
July 30 Thursday Second Term Final Examinations; Second Term Ends

Summer Semester 2020 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term July 10 May 25 June 2
1st Term June 12 May 25 May 29
2nd Term July 25 July 8 July 11
MSVCC (online) Full Term July 10 May 31 June 8
MSVCC (online) 1st Term June 19 May 31 June 4
MSVCC (online) 2nd Term July 17 June 28 July 2

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a "W" for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates

Semester Testing Schedule

Fall Semester 2019 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Saturday, December 7 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, December 9 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, December 10 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TR
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TR
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TR
Wednesday, December 11 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, December 12 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TR
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TR
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TR
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TR
Friday, December 13 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  
       

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.

Spring Semester 2020 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Saturday, May 2 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, May 4 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, May 5 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TR
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TR
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TR
Wednesday, May 6 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, May 7 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TR
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TR
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TR
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TR
Friday, May 8 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.