Oct 21, 2020  
2015-2016 College Catalog 
    
2015-2016 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar



Fall Semester, 2015

April 1 Wednesday Alumni Foundation Scholarship application deadline; financial aid priority deadline
June 30 Tuesday Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Appeals Priority deadline
August 14 Friday New Personnel Orientation
August 17 Monday Fall Convocation 
August 18 Tuesday Campus Workshops
August 19 Wednesday Residence Hall check-in for students with housing assignments10:00 a.m.-5:00 pm.
August 19-20 Wednesday-Thursday Registration (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first-term classes, there will be no late registration period)
August 21 Friday Classes begin
August 24 Monday MSVCC (online) classes begin*
September 7 Monday Labor Day holiday (classes that meet on Monday nights only will make-up on Friday, September 11th)
September 30 Wednesday Second payment of total fees due in the Business Office
October 12-13 Monday-Tuesday Columbus Day holidays (All offices closed; Residence Halls remain open)
October 15-16 Thursday-Friday Final exams for first term classes
October 16 Friday Midterm grades due for full term courses
October 19 Monday Second term classes begin
October 30 Friday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
November 2 Monday Fall 2015 Degree/Diploma application deadline; Spring semester Nursing application deadline
November 9 Monday Pre-Registration begins for Spring 2016
November 10 Tuesday Residence hall room-reclaim begins
November 20 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
November 23-27 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving holidays
November 29 Sunday Residence halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
December 4 Friday MSVCC (online) courses end*
December 14-18 Monday-Friday Final examinations for full term courses and second term courses
December 17 Thursday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
December 18 Friday Begin Christmas holidays after exams; Offices close 2:00 p.m.
     

Fall Semester 2015 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term October 23 August 20 September 3
1st 8 week term September 18 August 20 August 27
2nd 8 week term November 13 October 18 October 23
MSVCC (online) November 6 August 23 September 7

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change

Spring Semester, 2016

October 30 Friday Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress Appeals Priority deadline
January 4 Monday Employees return to work
January 5 Tuesday Registration (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first term classes, there will be no late registration period) 
Residence hall check in for students with housing assignments 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m
January 6 Wednesday Classes begin
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday
January 19 Tuesday MSVCC (online) classes begin*
February 5 Friday New Personnel Orientation
February 8-9 Monday-Tuesday Mardi Gras holidays; Residence Halls remain open (Full term Monday night only classes will make-up on Friday, March 11th and full term Tuesday night only classes will make up on Friday, March 4th. First term course make up dates will be made up at the discretion of the local dean)
February 29 Monday Second payment of total fees due in the Business Office
March 2-3 Wednesday-Thursday Final exams for first term classes
March 3 Thursday Midterm grades due for full term courses
March 4 Friday Second term classes begin
March 11 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
March 14-18 Monday-Friday Spring holidays
March 20 Sunday Residence Halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
March 25 Friday Good Friday holiday; residence halls remain open)
March 31 Thursday Final payment of total fees due in the Business Office
April 1 Friday Pre-registration begins for Summer & Fall 2016
Spring 2016 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Summer semester Allied Health deadline for Radiologic Technology
April 2 Saturday Residence hall room reclaim begins
April 29 Friday MSVCC (online) courses end*
May 2-6 Monday-Friday Final examinations for full term courses and second term courses
May 5 Thursday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
May 12 Thursday Graduation – Mississippi Coast Coliseum & Convention Center
May 16 Monday Summer Semester Nursing deadline for the LPN to RN Transitional Program

 Spring Semester 2016 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term March 11 January 5 January 20
1st 8 week term February 5 January 5 January 12
2nd 8 week term April 8 March 3 March 10
MSVCC (online) April 2 January 18 February  2

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change.

Summer Semesters, 2016

March 31 Thursday Financial Aid Satisfactory Progress appeals priority deadline
July 1 Wednesday  
June 30 Thursday Last day to complete the FAFSA for summer financial aid
July 1 Wednesday Summer 2016 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Fall Semester Nursing and Allied Health deadline; EMT/EMS-Paramedic, Nursing, Funeral Service, Surgical Technology, Medical Assisting and Medical Laboratory Technology

Five-Week Summer Term • Day Class Schedule • First Session

May 27 Friday Registration
May 30 Monday Memorial Day holiday (Make-up dates will be scheduled at the discretion of the local dean)
May 31 Tuesday Classes begin
June 30-July 1 Thursday-Friday Final Examinations; first session ends

Five-Week Summer Term • Day Class Schedule • Second Session

July 1 Friday Registration
July 5 Tuesday Classes begin
July 4 Monday Independence Day holiday (Make-up dates will be scheduled at the discretion of the local dean)
August 4-5 Thursday-Friday Final Examinations; second session ends

Ten-Week Summer Term • Class Schedule

May 27 Friday Registration
May 30 Monday Memorial Day holiday (Monday night classes will make-up on Friday, June 10) (Make-up dates will be scheduled at the discretion of the local dean)
May 31 Tuesday Classes begin
July 4 Monday Independence Day holiday (Make-up dates will be scheduled at the discretion of the local dean)
August 1-5 Monday-Friday Final Examinations will be given during the last class meeting

Summer Semester 2016 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule 

Term Last day to withdraw
with a "W" grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term July 8 May 30 June 6
1st 5 week term June 17 May 30 June 6
2nd 5 week term July 22 July 1 July 7

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a "W" for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates

Semester Testing Schedule

Fall Semester, 2015 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Saturday, December 12 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, December 14 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, December 15 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TT
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TT
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TT
Wednesday, December 16 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, December 17 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TT
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TT
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TT
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TT
Friday, December 18 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  
       

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.

Spring Semester, 2016 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Saturday, April 30 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, May 2 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, May 3 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TT
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TT
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TT
Wednesday, May 4 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, May 5 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TT
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TT
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TT
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TT
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TT
Friday, May 6 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.