Feb 23, 2024  
2023-2024 College Catalog 
    
2023-2024 College Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2023

March 1 Wednesday Gulf Coast STEM and Foundation & Alumni Scholarship Application Priority Deadline
March 31 Friday Financial aid priority deadline
July 31 Monday Staff Convocation
August 7-11 Monday-Friday Open Enrollment
August 14 Monday New Personnel Orientation
August 15 Tuesday Fall Faculty Convocation
Residence Hall check-in for students with housing assignments 10:00 a.m.-5:00 pm.
August 16 Wednesday Campus Workshops
Advising/Registration - All faculty return (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first-term classes)
August 17 Thursday All full term and 1st term face-to-face online classes begin
August 21 Monday MSVCC Online Classes Begin
September 4 Monday Labor Day holiday (classes that meet on Monday nights only will make-up on Friday, September 8)
September 11 Monday Fall 13-week courses start
September 15 Friday 2023-24 Mississippi State Aid application deadline (MTAG, MESG, etc.)
October 1 Sunday 2024-25 Mississippi State Aid application opens (MTAG, MESG, etc.)
October 2 Monday Advisement Month begins for Spring 2024
October 9-10 Monday-Tuesday Columbus Day holidays; Night class make up dates will be made up at the discretion of the local dean. (All offices closed; Residence Halls remain open)
October 11-13 Wednesday-Friday Midterm Exams for full term classes
October 12-13 Thursday-Friday Final exams for first term classes. Midterm grades due for full term courses.
October 17 Tuesday All 2nd term face-to-face classes online begin
November 1 Wednesday Fall 2023 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Rock the Registration begins for Spring 2024
Spring semester School of Nursing and Health Professions application deadline (Physical Therapist Assistant, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Health Informaiton Technology, Public Health/Navigator, Surgical Technology, Health Care Assistant, Practical Nursing and Associates Degree Nursing Programs)
Residence hall room-reclaim begins for Spring 2023
November 17 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
November 20-24 Monday-Friday Thanksgiving holidays
November 26 Sunday Residence halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
December 7-13 Thursday-Wednesday Final examinations for full term courses and second term courses
December 12 Thursday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
December 15 Friday Begin Christmas holidays; All offices close at 5:00 p.m.
     

Fall Semester 2023 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term October 26 August 16 August 31
1st 8 week term September 21 August 16 August 24
2nd 8 week term November 21 October 16 October 24
September 13-Week Term November 6 September 10 September 23
MSVCC (online) Full Term November 3 August 20 September 4
MSVCC (online) September 13 week term November 15 September 10 September 21
MSVCC (online) August 8 week term September 29 August 20 August 28
MSVCC (online) October 8 week term November 24 October 15 October 19
MSVCC (online) August 4 week term September 8 August 20 August 24
MSVCC (online) September 4 week term October 6 September 17 September 21
MSVCC (online) October 4 week term November 3 October 15 October 19
MSVCC (online) November 4 week term December 1 November 12 November 17

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change

Spring Semester 2024

December 18-January 9 Monday-Tuesday (3 weeks) Merrymester classes begin
January 2 Tuesday Employees return to work
January 2-5 Tuesday-Friday Spring Campus Meetings
January 3-9 Wednesday-Tuesday Open Enrollment (Notice: This is the final registration for full semester and first term classes.)
January 8 Monday Residence Halls check in for students with housing assignments 10:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m
January 10 Wednesday Full term and 1st term face-to-face classes begin
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday
January 16 Tuesday Online classes begin
February 5 Monday Spring 13-week courses begin
February 12-13 Monday-Tuesday Mardi Gras holidays; Full term Monday night only classes will make-up on Friday, February 16 and full term Tuesday night classes will make up on Friday, February 23.
(First term course make up dates will be made up at the discretion of the local dean). Residence halls remain open.
February 28-March 1 Wednesday-Friday Midterm Exams
February 29-March 1 Thursday-Friday 1st Term Final Exams
March 1 Friday

Midterm grades due for full term courses
Advisement Month begins for Summer and Fall 2024

March 5 Tuesday Second term face-to-face classes begin (see eLearning calendar for MSVCC online classes)
March 15 Friday Residence halls close 3:00 p.m.
March 18-22 Monday-Friday Spring holidays
March 24 Sunday Residence Halls re-open 3:00 p.m.
March 29 Friday Good Friday holiday (residence halls remain open)
April 1 Monday Registration begins for Summer & Fall 2024
Spring 2024 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Summer semester School of Nursing and Health Professions Application Deadline (Radiologic Technology)
Fall 2024 Priority Deadline for Foundation Scholarship Applications
April 2 Tuesday Residence Hall Room Reclaim begins for Fall 2024
April 29-May 3 Monday-Friday Final examinations for full term courses, second term courses and Spring 13-week courses
May 2 Thursday Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
May 9 Thursday Graduation – Mississippi Coast Coliseum & Convention Center
May 15 Wednesday Summer Semester School of Nursing and Health Professions Deadline (Health Care Assistant, LPN to RN Traditional and Hybrid Options Programs, EMS/Paramedic to RN, Respiratory Therapist to RN Traditional and Hybrid Option Programs)

 Spring Semester 2024 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term March 25 January 9 January 24
1st 8 week term February 14 January 9 January 17
2nd 8 week term April 9 March 4 March 12
13-Week term April 2 February 4 February 17
MSVCC (online) Dec 3 week term January 3 December 17 December 21
MSVCC (online) Full Term March 29 January 15 January 30
MSVCC (online) 13 week term April 1 February 4 February 17
MSVCC (online) January 8 week term February 23 January 15 January 23
MSVCC (online) March 8 week term April 19 March 10 March 18
MSVCC (online) January 4 week term February 2 January 15 January 19
MSVCC (online) February 4 week term March 1 February 11 February 15
MSVCC (online) March 4 week term March 29 March 10 March 14
MSVCC (online) April 4 week term April 26 April 7 April 11

* MSVCC (online) dates subject to change.

Summer Semesters 2024

May 6-24 Monday-Friday (3 weeks) Maymester Classes begin
May 24 Friday Summer 2024 Registration
May 27 Monday Memorial Day holiday (Monday night only classes will make-up on Friday, June 7)
May 28 Tuesday All full-term and 1st term face to face and MSVCC online classes begin
June 24 Monday 2nd term MSVCC online classes begin
June 25 Tuesday Last day to complete the FAFSA for summer financial aid
June 28 Friday 1st term final exams; Registration for 2nd term
Summer 2024 Degree/Diploma application deadline
Fall 2024 Semester School of Nursing and Health Professions Application Deadline (EMT/EMS-Paramedic, Health Care Assistant, Practical Nursing, Associate Degree Nursing, Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technology, Surgical Technology and Respiratory Care Technology Programs)
July 1-5 Monday-Friday Summer Break
July 8 Monday 2nd term face to face classes begins
July 29-August 2 Monday-Friday Full-term final exams (given during the last class meeting)
August 2 Friday 2nd term final exams

Summer Semester 2024 Refund and Withdrawal Schedule

Term Last day to withdraw
with a “W” grade
Last day for 100% refund Last day for 90% refund

Full Term July 10 May 27 June 5
1st Term June 19 May 27 May 31
2nd Term July 29 July 7 July 11
Maymester term May 22 May 5 May 8
MSVCC (online) Full Term July 12 June 2 June 12
MSVCC (online) 1st Term June 21 June 2 June 6
MSVCC (online) 2nd Term July 19 June 30 July 4

* The refund deadline and last day to receive a “W” for short term, weekend and online classes vary.
Please contact the Admissions Office for questions regarding those dates

Semester Testing Schedule

Fall Semester 2023 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Thursday, December 7 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TR
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TR
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TR
Friday, December 8 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Saturday, December 9 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, December 11 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Tuesday, December 12 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TR
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TR
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TR
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TR
Wednesday, December 13 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  
       

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.

Spring Semester 2024 • All Campuses

Date Exam Time Class Time  

Saturday, April 27 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Saturday morning classes  
Monday, April 29 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-8:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m.-10:53 a.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 11:00 a.m.-11:53 a.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-3:53 p.m. MWF
Tuesday, April 30 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 9:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. TR
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 2:00 p.m.-2:53 p.m. MWF
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. TR
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. TR
Wednesday, May 1 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.-9:53 a.m. MWF
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m.-12:53 p.m. MWF
  1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-1:53 p.m. MWF
  4:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m.-5:20 p.m. MW
Thursday, May 2 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.-12:20 p.m. TR
  10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. TR
    1:30 p.m.-2:50 p.m. TR
  3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m.-4:20 p.m. TR
  4:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-6:20 p.m. TR
Friday, May 3 8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. Other classes  

Evening class exams will be the last meeting of the semester during exam week.
Exams in all flexibly scheduled courses will be given during the last class meeting.