(West Harrison County Center)
Fall Entry Only
The Massage Therapy program provides students with knowledge of the anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology of the human body and the techniques and manipulations designed to enhance the physical health of clients. During the nine-month program, students will study basic techniques and modalities to include Swedish, prenatal and sports massage, reflexology, neuromuscular/trigger point massage, deep-tissue massage, chair massage, and industry-specific business and ethics.
The new 1-year, 700-hour Massage Therapy program at MGCCC is approved and licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy (MSBMT), P.O. Box 20, Morton, MS 39117, 601-732-6038, under Non-conditional License #1711. Industry standards referenced are from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Content Outline.
Upon successful completion of the program, graduates will be eligible to sit for the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx), administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), accepted by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy (MSBMT). Students must pass the MBLEx in order to be a Licensed Massage Therapist within the state of Mississippi, as well as successful completion of the Mississippi State Law Examination (MSLE), administered by the MSBMT.
This program leads to an Associate of Applied Science Degree and is preparatory for employment upon graduation from MGCCC. Where a transfer to four-year college or university is desired, a conference should be scheduled with a MGCCC advisor.
All students completing a career or technical program must complete a MGCCC Board- approved Technical Skills Attainment where applicable. Students should see an advisor for further details.
The goals of the Massage Therapy program include:
- Offer a curriculum consistent with the recommendations of the Mississippi Board of Massage Therapy, the advisory council, and business/industry.
- Prepare a program graduate to take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam and other appropriate industry certification exams.
- Assist program graduates to enter a career field that pays an average wage of $24,610 per year.
- Complete application and be accepted to Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College. Application can be completed online.
- Submit copies of official transcripts of all schools attended to the Intake Specialist at the West Harrison County Center. All transcripts must be reviewed for determination of course credits.
- Meet all Academic Requirements (listed below) and complete any program pre-requisites or Entry Requirements.
- After successful completion of all academic and entry requirements, the student will submit a Massage Therapy Application for Program Admission. Please schedule an appointment with the Massage Therapy Program Director at the West Harrison County Center to complete and submit your Massage Therapy program Application at 228-563-2224.
Application deadline for Fall entry programs is May 31. All test scores, transcripts, and required documentation must be received by this date. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Late applications may be considered depending upon the availability of program openings.
Academic and Entry Requirements
- At least 18 years of age.
- Achieve a minimum ACT of 16 (composite) with at least 12 in Reading and Science.
- Meet with the Massage Therapy Program Director and submit the Massage Therapy Application.
- Complete the Gulf Coast Work Ready Training class.
Program openings are filled based on Selective Admission; applicants are ranked based on their individual achievement test scores and prior college course work. Student ranking for entry into the Massage Therapy program is based on a point system. Students are awarded points for their required ACT composite score. Points will also be awarded for a conferred health- related Associate Degree or a Bachelor or higher conferred degree. Program enrollment as specified by the MS Board of Massage Therapy is limited to 15 students. Students who are selected are also held to the following program policies:
Massage Therapy Program Policies
- Once a program opening has been awarded, the student will be required to obtain a clear or acceptable Criminal Background Check from the MGCCC Campus Police at HC, JC, Perkinston, or the George County Campus/Center. MGCCC's Criminal Background Check Policy can be viewed on-line at www.mgccc.edu/programs_of_study/health_related_programs/
- Upon admission to the Massage Therapy program, students must maintain a 2.0 GPA on the required courses and complete each course with a C or better.
Massage Therapy Program Expenses-Non Refundable (Estimate only, cost may be subject to change)
Prior to Entering Program
- Initial Criminal Background Check $50-$80 (MGCCC Campus Police)
Once Admitted into Program
- Uniform, Accessories $150-$200.
- Additional purchase items, supplies $50-$150.
- Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy Exams and Initial Licensure Costs $581.